Don Delillo’s White Noise

I have a run to go on and have spent a lot of time today updating my blogs (finally), but I can’t pass up the chance to talk about this book.

I haven’t done too much reading outside of thesis and class work for a while, but Delillo’s White Noise was worth the time it took to get through the sometimes dry, slow writing.

Basically, all I feel like writing now is that it deals with one of life’s biggest questions, death, and works with the topic and how it affects people in the most intelligent, fascinating of ways. The characters are despicable, pathetic, and absolutely normal. They are no more to blame for the way they behave than the rest of us, all insecure in our own ways and all worthy of pity.

That at least, is how a first impression of the novel works on me. If I ever get back to this, I can write more about it. Maybe some things will ferment in the meantime.

I encourage you to read it, if you haven’t already. At first I thought I wouldn’t like it (it’s a bit snobby in what it expects, intellectually), but can be appreciated as a “fun” read to.

Happy reading… this or anything else.

Leave a Reply

