189/1030: returning to Rajewsky, the intermediality debate

I blame my failure to post anything at all in the month of February on the shortness of the month. I could have sworn I at least started a few drafts that month, but I guess it was imagined. I did do a decent amount of annotating though, and sorta kinda finally finished two books I’ve been holding on to since November.

So, almost 200 days in and all I have to show for it are about 70 pages of superficial, disjointed musings. From my MA thesis, I know producing material is easy for me. It’s the quality and the organization that really take the work I haven’t been putting into my dissertation. However, in light of a new uplift in spirits and a new goal for myself: draft for intro by start of April, as well as Spring Break that relieves me of other responsibilities, I’m setting out for five posts this week.

I had a few epiphanies in February, not all of them good. One of them involved taking a connection/conclusion I’d made all for myself and realizing that someone else had already done so: Jochen Mecke and Volker Roloff in Filmische Literatur und literarisierter Film” to be exact. This realization involves making the link from intertextuality to intermediality, but using Kristeva’s theses on intertextuality, which drew from Bakhtin’s dialogism, as a launching point. Therefore, I proved to myself that my research is apt and ideas credible, but I need to dig deeper to find the unexplored territory. But first, a few notes on what Rajewsky proposes as the intertextuality debate (48-58).

This debate centers on the extent to which we expand the term. One, favored by the postructuralists and deconstructionists, restricts the ideas to those dealing with the text and and how textual functions affect the text as a whole. The other, favored by cultural semiotics like myself, if I may dare say so, metaphorically extends the concept to many other aspects of thinking and life. This other stance opens up nicely for intermediality, but then the issue appears that seems to challenge many who deal with intermediality: where can we stop talking about media, if everything is media? And if everything is media and can be talked about in the same way, what’s the point in talking about it?

However, while I acknowledge that argument, I do still believe there is sense in talking about the way these overlaps occur. Especially in light of overlapping ideas of culture and nations, it makes sense to help explain where the boundaries still occur, because this may open up more room for people who think categorically (which is all of us) to become more tolerant.

That’s it for now. more to follow tomorrow (for realsies, this time).

Work Cited: Rajewsky, Irina O. Intermedialität. Tübingen: UTB, Stuttgart, 2002. Print.

Disclaimer: this series is a collection of brainstorms and free-writes that are a part of my planning for actual text in my dissertation. Therefore, I am giving myself the liberty to make mistakes, make assumptions (call me out on offensive ones, though!), not tie up loose ends, and generally not make any sense. 

Copyright 2017 Dorothea Trotter: because these writings are planning for actual text in my dissertation, some of this will appear in my dissertation. I hold the right to the words in this post and require that interested parties ask for permission before copying the words or ideas too closely. Obviously, the date of posting is the date of copyright and I reserve the right to challenge suspected plagiarism in my future dissertation submission using these blogs as proof of originality.

 

Leave a Reply

